Central Region, BSA Sea Scouting


 Sea Scout Promise
As a Sea Scout, I promise to do my best
  • To guard against water accidents
  • To know the location and proper use of lifesaving devices on every boat I board
  • To be prepared to render aid to those in need
  • To seek to preserve the motto of the sea: Women and Children First

 Special Features



Teting Alt Text
Central Region Sea Scouting newsletter
The Central Region Sea Scouting newsletters can be read or downloaded at the links listed below. To sign up to be the first receive the Central Region Flotilla Log directly to... [More]
Teting Alt Text
2014-2015 National Sea Scout Boatswain - Peter Schmidt
The National Sea Scout Support Committee announces the selection of Peter Schmidt of Springfield, Illinois as the 2014-2015 National Sea Scout Boatswain. His of office is June 1, 2014... [More]

Read More:

About the Central Region

The Central Region is the administrative body that services sixty-nine local BSA councils in the Great Midwest of the United States . The territory spanned by the Central Region includes council headquarter cities in thirteen states, including all of Iowa, Illinois, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, North Dakota, Ohio, Wisconsin, and parts of Indiana, Kentucky, Montana, Nebraska, South Dakota, Virginia, and West Virginia. As a whole, these sixty-nine councils positively influence the lives of over 715,000 registered youth in traditional BSA programs. Included in that figure are over 48,000 Venturers in over 3,600 crews (including over 900 Sea Scouts in over 90 ships). The region works to support and sustain these sixty-nine councils as they build, support and sustain their programs. This web-based resource is aimed to support the objectives of Central Region, BSA. See the Area Pages tab above for a complete listing of councils organized by area within the region.

Information from the National Council